NBA 2021-2022 Awards: All Awards, MVP, Winners & Finalists – Your Opinion

Nikola Jokic Declared the "MVP" for the NBA 2021-2022 Season

The NBA 2021-2022 Awards have been declared (Source

The 2022 NBA Playoffs have begun, and as we saw on Monday, notable players are beginning to win awards for their regular-season achievements.

Through TNT’s postseason coverage, the NBA will announce the 2021-22 award winners, with Ernie Johnson, Kenny Smith, Shaquille O’Neal, and Charles Barkley helping to decide who will win the MVP, Rookie of the Year, Defensive Player of the Year, Sixth Man of the Year, Most Improved Player, Coach of the Year, Teammate of the Year & Sportsmanship Award.

Voting was conducted by media members and is based only on the 2021-22 regular season.

NBA 2021-2022 Awards

Most Valuable Player


  • Nikola Jokic, (Denver Nuggets)(Winner)
  • Joel Embiid (Philadelphia 76ers)
  • Giannis Antetokounmpo (Milwaukee Bucks)

Last season, Nikola Jokic earned his first MVP award, beating out finalists such as 76ers standout Joel Embiid and reigning Finals MVP Giannis Antetokounmpo. After averaging 27.1 points, 13.8 rebounds, and 7.9 assists per game for a Nuggets club that won 48 games, Jokic has earned the NBA MVP award for the second year in a row.

Rookie of the Year


  • Scottie Barnes (Toronto Raptors) (Winner)
  • Evan Mobley (Cleveland Cavaliers)
  • Cade Cunningham (Detroit Pistons)

Scottie Barnes joins Vince Carter and Damon Stoudamire as the third player in Raptors history to earn the honor. Barnes, the fourth overall selection in 2021, averaged 15.3 points, 7.5 rebounds, and 3.5 assists in 74 games during his rookie NBA season.

Defensive Player of the Year


  • Marcus Smart (Boston Celtics) (Winner)
  • Rudy Gobert (Utah Jazz)
  • Mikal Bridges (Phoenix Suns)

Marcus Smart was the first guard to be declared the defensive player of the year since Gary Payton’s 95-96 season. Smart contributed to the Celtics having the top defensive rating in the NBA (106.2), as well as the lowest field goal and 3-point percentage against. He was third in the NBA in thefts per game, and he was also in the top ten in deflections, charges drawn, and loose balls recovered.

Sixth Man of the Year


  • Tyler Herro (Miami Heat) (Winner)
  • Kevin Love (Cleveland Cavaliers)
  • Cameron Johnson (Phoenix Suns)

Herro becomes the first player in Heat franchise history to take home Sixth Man of the Year honors.

Most Improved Player


  • Ja Morant (Memphis Grizzlies) (winner)
  • Darius Garland (Cleveland Cavaliers)
  • Dejounte Murray (San Antonio Spurs)

For the first time this season, all three contenders for the Most Improved Player award became All-Stars. Ja Morant took the largest step forward of them all this season, averaging a career-high 27.4 points, 5.7 rebounds, and 6.7 assists while helping Memphis to the Western Conference’s No. 2 seed.

Coach of the Year


  • Monty Williams (Phoenix Suns) (Winner)
  • Taylor Jenkins (Memphis Grizzlies)
  • Erik Spoelstra (Miami Heat)

Williams has been voted Coach of the Year, according to Shams Charania of The Athletic. Williams receives the award after leading the Suns to a league-best 64-18 record and the greatest in team history.

NBA 2021-2022 Awards, NBA, Your Opinion
Monty Williams(Phoenix Suns Coach) Wins Coach of the Year Award in the NBA 2021-2022 Season

Teammate of the Year


  • Jrue Holiday (Milwaukee Bucks)(Winner)
  • DeMar DeRozan (Chicago Bulls)
  • Rudy Gay (Utah Jazz)
  • Jeff Green (Denver Nuggets)
  • Udonis Haslem (Miami Heat)
  • Andre Iguodala (Golden Staten Warriors)
  • Jaren Jackson Jr. (Memphis Grizzlies)
  • Kevin Love (Cleveland Cavaliers)
  • Boban Marjanović (Dallas Mavericks)
  • Chris Paul (Phoenix Suns)
  • Fred VanVleet (Toronto Raptors)
  • Grant Williams (Boston Celtics)

Holiday received 964 points in the balloting making him the Teammate of the year, despite several finalists being the contenders for the award.

Sportsmanship Award


  • Patty Mills (Brooklyn Nets)(Winner)
  • Bam Adebayo (Miami Heat)
  • Mikal Bridges (Phoenix Suns)
  • Darius Garland (Cleveland Cavaliers)
  • Jeff Green (Denver Nuggets)
  • Jaren Jackson Jr. (Memphis Grizzlies)

Mills received a total of 1975 points in the balloting. The NBA Veteran from Australia was awarded the Sportsmanship Award of the year for the first time.

Latest NBA News

ALSO READ: ‘I was bad. She was awesome’; Shaquille O’Neal talks about 2011 divorce on ‘The Pivot Pod’ – Your Opinion

Written by Felix

Founder of "Your Opinion" and an avid Sports Enthusiast. Thriving to get the spiciest Sports as well as Entertainment snippets for our viewers.

Kentucky Derby 2022: Exciting”Run For The Roses” is here; Everything you need to know, Schedule, timings & more – Your Opinion

Snapchat, crying filter, Johnny Depp, Your Opinion

NO!! Amber Heard is not the Inspiration for the New Snapchat ‘Crying’ filter